Upcoming Hikes

This blog post is me throwing my hat over the fence so to speak. I’ve live in California all of my life, I spent the first half (up till college) of my life in Salinas California*, near the Monterey Bay, and now reside in North Orange County. I’ve enjoyed camping and hiking and since it has always been so close I’ve made a few trips to Yosemite Valley over the years. I can remember vividly going there with my grandparents sometime durring grade school, hiking around mirror lake, and halfway up to vernal falls in the summer. A small group of friends and I have made it a habit of trying to make drive up to Yosemite (about 5-6 hours from SoCal) at least once a year. It’s a new tradition, but one of my favorites. This year we have booked a trip in mid May. Each time we go I try to find one big hike that I want to try and this year is no exception. My goal this year is to do a combination of hikes. Fist starting with the Four Mile Trail* from the Yosemite Valley up to Glacier Point point and then down the Panorama Trail back down to the camp ground. This would be the largest hike I’ve done by far, But would be great practice as I plan to do a second trip this year (possibly in mid/late September) in order to do the infamous Half Dome Hike.

Here’s a quick run down of the two hikes:

Four Mile Trail:

  • Distance:  4.7 miles (7.5 km) one way; 9.4 miles (15 km) round trip
  • Yosemite Valley Elevation:  4,000 feet (1,200 meters)
    Glacier Point Elevation:  7,200 feet (2,200 meters)
    Total Elevation Change:  3,200 feet (975 meters)
  • Hiking Time:  2 – 3.5 hours one way

Panorama Trail:

  • Distance:  8.5 miles (13.5 km) one way
  • Elevation Range:  from 4,000 feet (1,220 meters) on the valley floor to 7,200 feet (2,200 meters) at Glacier Point
    Total Elevation Change:  3,200 feet (975 meters)
  • Hiking Time:  4.5 – 7 hours

I plan to start out around 6 am Saturday morning (our first morning there) and head from our spot in lower pines campground over to the trail head of Four Mile Trail near the swinging bridge. This little warm up will probably be about 2 miles. Then Hike up Four mile trails 4.7 miles with 3200 ft elevation gain and rest. I am currently trying to recruit someone to come with me on this leg of the adventure, but no takers yet. After reaching glacier point I plan to find a shady spot with a view for a restful brunch/lunch. at around 11 am the rest of my group will join me by driving from the valley to glacier point, we’ll take pictures and hang out for a bit before some of us head down panorama and someone takes the car back down to the valley. I’m going to give myself an out here and if I’m not feeling up for an 8.5 mile hike back to the valley, call it quits and ride home. But Panorama trail is so beautiful and I’d love to hike down it, and its down hill, I should be able to do it especially after a short rest, so I’m going to try.  Hopefully we’ll all make it down safe and sound and then i’ll fall fast asleep in my hammock* near the fire and spend the rest of our time chillaxing (maybe do the john beer trail*).

I love Yosemite and want to see every inch of it. I need to do this hike to make up for last years failure. Last year I wanted to do upper Yosemite Falls but chickened out after spending the previous day biking around the valley and being too tired. I’ve got all my gear ready this time and will be doing it as soon as I can so I’m not too exhausted this year.

I’d like to throw a quick shout out to yosemitehikes.com for making such an easy to use resource for all things Yosemite hiking related. and close with a few pictures I took from our last trip. I did not have a fancy camera last year, so hopefully this year I’ll come back with a few higher quality photo’s to share with you. Hope you Enjoyed the post, I will be following up to let you know how it went. Also leave a comment if you have any comments or tips about Yosemite, four mile trail, or panorama trail, I’d love to hear from  you.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Leave a Reply

