Chipotle Ranch Chicken Wings with Potato Wedges

Opening notes:

Again I am in no way an expert chef.I’m actually pretty bad at cooking. I do this for fun.

I based this meal off of these 2 recopies: chicken wings, potato wedges
Prep time:  35mins
Cook time: 60 mins
Total time:  95mins
Serves: 4-6 servings

Here’s what you need:

for chicken wings and ranch:

  • 2 tablespoons garlic powder
  • 2 tablespoons onion powder
  • 1 teaspoon chipotle chili powder
  • 2 teaspoons dried dill
  • salt and black pepper
  • 4 pounds chicken wings and drumettes
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 tablespoons chipotle hot sauce, divided
  • 1/2 cup mayo
  • 1/4 cup Greek yogurt, plain
  • 2 tablespoons sour cream
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1 teaspoon fresh chives, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon fresh dill, chopped

for potato wedges:

  • 4 russet potatoes
  • 2 tsp olive oil
  • ½ – 1 tsp salt
  • ½ – 1 tsp pepper
  • ½ – 1 tsp Italian seasoning

Directions:

chicken wings and ranch:

  • Mix together spice mix:
    • mix up garlic powder, onion powder, chipotle chili powder, dried dill and a good amount of salt and pepper
  • Make the ranch dressing:
    • whisk together the mayo, Greek yogurt, sour cream, vinegar, sugar, chives, dill, remaining 1 tablespoon of hot sauce and 1 tablespoon of spice mix. Refrigerate.
  • add buttermilk, 1 tablespoon of the hot sauce and 1 tablespoon of the spice mix to a large bowl and whisk. Add chicken wings. Marinade for at least 5 hours.
  • preheat oven to 425. Coat baking sheet with non-stick spray. Remove wings from marinade and drain completely. Coat in remaining spice mix.
  • arrange wings on the baking sheet and bake for 45-50 minute. Make sure to turn the wings around the 30 or 35 minute mark.

potato wedges:

  • preheat oven to 400 (for this recipe I actually cooked them with the wings to save time, they cooked fine at 425 degrees)
  • scrub potatoes. Cut them into 8 wedges.
  • toss in olive oil and then arrange on baking sheet.
  • sprinkle with spices
  • bake for 25-35 minutes (I left mine in a little longer because I like em crispy)

once everything is cooked serve with chipotle ranch and veggies.

Story Time:

I LOVE chicken wings. and I love ranch and I love chipotle*. So when I found a chipotle ranch chicken wing recipe I jumped on it. This was my first attempt at making my own chicken wings and as you’ll see I learned a lot.

 

So first off  I started with the spice mix. Added the garlic powder, onion powder, chipotle chili powder, dried dill and salt and pepper to a tupperware and mixed em up. I used about 1 tsb of salt and pepper, probably could have used less. chipotle ranch chicken wings1

I forgot that I was going to blog this*, so I forgot to take pictures of a lot of this process, but here is picture of my marinade with the chicken submerged in the fridge. I was surprised at how much marinade was required and a little grossed out at how much buttermilk it used. chipotle ranch chicken wings2

Next I made the ranch. I found through this process that 1 chipotle chili powder is a thing and 2 that it smells amazing! its my new favorite spice. It smells like bbq, I kinda want to make a chipotle chili powder candle or something.  The ranch was interesting, I was not the hugest fan and didn’t really end up using much of it on my wings, but I could see how some people would like it. Kind of has a tang to it.chipotle ranch chicken wings3

alright the next day I scrubbed and chopped up my taters and tossed them in the oil. Make sure not to drench them in oil, you just want a little coat so they get a little crispy. You could even arrange them and brush them with oil if you’d like, but this is faster.chipotle ranch chicken wings4

Again I forgot till halfway through cooking to take pictures. So here’s my wings in the oven, coated in the spice mix. Here’s actually where I think i went wrong*, I think I should have maybe drained the wings a little better. What I ended up doing was removing them from the marinade and then kind of shaking them out over the sink to remove the excess, but they still had a lot of buttermilk mix on them and that part ended up getting a little burnt.chipotle ranch chicken wings5

And here’s the potatoes all lined up and seasoned. So many baking sheets. I don’t think I’ve ever put this much stuff in my oven at the same time. As I said above I cooked the wings and the potatoes together at 425 and the potatoes still weren’t crispy enough for me. Probably hard to get large wedges like these real crispy without frying them, but they turned out alright. chipotle ranch chicken wings6

Just a quick shot of my ranch and veggie side, I’m working on my photography skillz. Also I’m not sure why, but I’m really enjoying using left over containers like this sour cream container to hold all the home made dips/dressings that I’ve been making, they fit perfectly and I don’t have to use my Tupperware. chipotle ranch chicken wings7

This was a long one, the baking took what seemed like forever, and I did’t time it we’ll so the wings were done first and we were waiting around for the potatoes for a while, We were starving. But aside from a little bit of burnt chunks on the wings it all turned out pretty good. I really enjoyed the spicey-ness of the wings. It was a little too spicey for my fiancee, but I like it.chipotle ranch chicken wings8

I definitely enjoyed cooking this. I’m not 100% sure I’d make it again, but they were good and a great learning experience. If you know what I did wrong with my wings, or had any improvements for any part of this recipe drop me a line in the comments section, I’d love to hear from you. Also if you try this out, let me know how it went for you.

Leave a Reply

