Bourbon Teriyaki Pork Chops with Thai Pineapple Fried Rice

Opening notes:

Again I am in no way an expert chef.I’m actually pretty bad at cooking. I do this for fun.

I based this meal off of these 2 recopies: rice, pork
Prep time:  15 mins
Cook time:  26mins
Total time:  41 mins
Serves: 2 to 4 serving

 

Here’s what you need:

for rice:

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
  • 2 eggs, beaten with a dash of salt
  • 1½ cups chopped fresh pineapple
  • 1 large red bell pepper, diced (about ¾ cup diced)
  • ½ bunch green onions, green and white parts, thinly sliced (about ½ cup)
  • 2 cloves garlic, pressed or minced
  • ½ cup chopped raw, unsalted cashews
  • 2 cups cooked and chilled brown rice
  • 1 tablespoon soy sauce
  • 1 to 2 teaspoons chili garlic sauce
  • Season with salt, to taste
  • Handful fresh cilantro leaves, chopped, for garnishing

for pork chops:

  • 3/4 cup Kikkoman teriyaki marinade
  • 1/4 cup bourbon
  • 2 Tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 2 (1 1/2 lb) pork

Directions:

pork chops:

  • whisk together teriyaki, bourbon, brown sugar and garlic.
  • marinade pork overnight in the marinade.
  • Remove pork from marinade and grill for 16-18 minutes or bake at 400 degrees for 20 minutes (time may vary based on thickness of meat)

rice:

  • Scramble eggs in 1 teaspoon oil on medium-high heat, then set aside in a bowl.
  • Cook pineapple and red pepper in 1 tablespoon of oil  on medium-high heat for 3-5 minutes, or until  liquid has evaporated and the pineapple is caramelized
  • Add green onion and garlic and heat for a minute or so.
  • Set contents of the pan aside with the eggs.
  • Add the last two teaspoons of oil to the pan and cook cashews on medium-high heat for a minute or so.
  • Add rice and heat for about 3 minutes.
  • Add back all of the previously set aside ingredients and stir.
  • Add 1 tablespoon of soy sauce and  1 teaspoon chili garlic sauce. Add juice from ½ of a lime .
  • Combine and serve. Garnish with cilantro. additional salt, soy sauce, and chili garlic sauce can be added to taste.

Story Time:

I was looking forward to this all week! I had never cooked pork chops before, and pineapple in fried rice sounded amazing so I was really excited to try this out. First off I want to note that I changed a few things from the original recipe. Most importantly I chose to use pork chops instead of pork tenderloins. Honestly I don’t exactly know the difference and I couldn’t find “tenderloins” so I figured chops would be fine, and they were.

I was lucky enough to have my lovely fiancee assisting me this time. We chose to start with the rice as it would be easier to keep warm for a little while we grilled the pork. So first we chopped everything up and got it all ready, this recipe moves fast so having everything prepared will be handy. I had actually forgot I was going to blog this and forgot to take a picture of cooking the eggs, but that’s what I was doing while she was chopping stuff up. I also forgot to put a teaspoon of oil in the pan before cooking the eggs, but it turned out fine. When they were done I set them in a bowl on the side.

DSC_0116

Next we heated the pineapple and red pepper on medium-high heat for 5 minutes in 1 tablespoon of oil. Then tossed in the garlic and onions. I kept them in there for a little longer than the original recipe because I had to take pictures.

DSC_0119

Next I moved the contents of the pan into the bowl with eggs and started on the cashews. I could not find unsalted raw cashews, so I had to settle for roasted and lightly salted*. We also chopped them up a little before cooking them. To compensate for them not being raw, we did not add any salt to taste at the end*DSC_0122

Then we combined the nuts and the rice. I chose to add about 3 cups of rice instead of 2 because I needed some leftovers to take to work for lunch. Really you can add as much rice as you’d like. With these proportions I think it turned out wonderful with 3 cups. DSC_0124

Once that was warm we added all the other ingredients back and garnished with cilantro*. I also forgot to add the lime juice, but it was still amazing. I’ll remember next time.

DSC_0131

#tastetherainbow

Then it was onto the chops. I went down to my apartment complex’s grill and fired it up. I had never cooked pork chops before so I really wasn’t sure how hot it should be, My back left one ended up being a little well done, but overall I was quite happy with the way the turned out for it being my first time.IMG_20160304_172702

I grilled them for 16 minutes. I think this is really where the chops vs tenderloins kind of matters. I think with the chops they could have cooked for a little less. 16 minutes on high heat total, flipping at 8 minutes made them a little well done for my taste. Next time I would probably go with 12 minutes or so, just so they are a little juicier. DSC_0144

Once the pork chops were done I headed back up and served everything up. I’d probably rate this meal as a 8/10. It is extremely delicious and pretty easy to make. I highly recommend this for a night when you want to try something new. The pineapple is really fun in the rice and the teriyaki-y pork really compliments it well.

DSC_0148

I ended up eating the leftovers for breakfast this morning I enjoyed it so much.

I hope you enjoyed this post. Again if you have any questions, comments or concerns feel free to post them in the comments section.

 

Leave a Reply

